‘Big Six’ among nine European Super League clubs to commit to UEFA competitions

Nine of the original European Super League clubs – including the Premier League’s ‘Big Six’ – have declared their commitment to UEFA and its competitions at a continental and domestic level.

However, the three who have not renounced the Super League – Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus – are set to face “appropriate action” under UEFA’s disciplinary process.

The 12 clubs announced themselves as founder members of the breakaway league on 18 April, but within 72 hours it had fallen apart with the English clubs withdrawing after fan protests and government pressure.

The clubs will make a combined €15m goodwill contribution to benefit children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

They will also have 5% of UEFA competition revenues withheld for one season. This money will be redistributed.

They face fines of €100m each if they seek to join an unauthorised competition in the future, and a fine of half that if they breach any other terms of the declaration, UEFA said in a statement.

They will also rejoin the influential lobbying group the European Club Association.

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said: “I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organisation to admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that.

“In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

“The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK.

“These clubs recognised their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football. The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called ‘Super League’ and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently.”

On those clubs – Real, Barca and Juve – the tone was strikingly different in UEFA’s statement.

“UEFA has reserved all rights to take whatever action it deems appropriate against those clubs that have so far refused to renounce the so-called ‘Super League’,” the statement concluded.

“The matter will promptly be referred to the competent UEFA disciplinary bodies.”

Check Also

Kremlin says OPEC+ decision to cut production is aimed at stabilizing market

The decision of the OPEC+ group of leading oil producers to reduce output by two …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.